On 5/23/2020 at 9:22 PM, the_cream_man said:

Thanks all, I have to ask... What's the consensus on the kill jar? 

I returned these where I found them but was very tempted to take some to mount.  Is collecting to mount generally frowned upon??

I majored in entomology, and focused on scarab taxonomy. I kill thousands of insects for research annually. Yes, I always, and ALWAYS receive message about "why do you kill them?" I preserve them to study their morphological characters in the best-possible condition. Old and dying specimens with no characteristic features preserved, has less worth of studies. I study and publish my research to scientific journals to share the information I found with others.

Without biological taxonomy studied on any living things, NO FURTHER STUDIES can ever even be started. Our common sense of differentiating dogs to cats first started with taxonomy. Taxonomy is the very important and very first step in biological studies.

Killing jar is to kill insects in field, to avoid any potential damages to its specimen. It is to preserve it to the very best condition ever since the sampling occurred.

Let's say... you collected a butterfly, and kept it in a jar. Butterfly will flap their wings to escape until you take it home, and kill them. It will damage all their wings, and you may see broken pieces of wings on bottom of a jar. Do you think you can study based on the puzzle-like broken insect specimen? Possible, but very difficult to do so, as it is not man-made object. You may not be able to perfectly put pieces together.

Well, of course, I don't kill insects "just for fun." I don't even kill mosquitoes in my room. If they come in, I catch them and let it go outside. I don't just kill this and that insects. I only kill and preserve scarabs, and sometimes, I collect other insect groups for my colleagues in different regions. This is my scientist-viewpoint.