Dynasties tityus freshly emerged care

Hi all,

This is my first time breeding beetles, so I'm still learning.  Earlier this year I had a Chrysina gloriosa get apparently eaten by mites after it emerged.  So I saw a ton of mites in my D.tityus pupal chamber containers and it looked like they had emerged in the chambers so I took them out so that they wouldn't get eaten by mites.

I partially buried them in another tub with some old substrate and sprayed it a little.  They were already hard but still dark brown.  Should I wait till they turn yellow then put them in the fridge for diapause?  Also do I need to feed them/offer water at this point or are they just gonna chill? They're moving around a little but mostly just sitting.  

@Nathan I saw you had some good advice with this species in some other posts, any words of wisdom? Others welcome to answer as well :)

Best regards,

Joe

If you already took him out of pupal chamber, you don't have to place the container into fridge. That's not necessary. You can just keep them in your room, or wherever you usually keep them. D. tityus take quite an amount of time until their color becomes bright yellow. The color of it will remain greenish or dark brown for a while until then. It can even take about half an year too. Try feed your beetle once a week or bi-weekly to see if he starts to feed on, or your beetle may starve to death... :(

You can mist/spray water on substrate, do not keep it dry.

On 8/2/2021 at 10:12 AM, the_cream_man said:

Hi all,

This is my first time breeding beetles, so I'm still learning.  Earlier this year I had a Chrysina gloriosa get apparently eaten by mites after it emerged.  So I saw a ton of mites in my D.tityus pupal chamber containers and it looked like they had emerged in the chambers so I took them out so that they wouldn't get eaten by mites.