Hi from Louisiana

So I am relatively new to rearing Coleoptera (aside from my two weeks of having pet Allomyrina dichotoma in Japan). I have 4 Dynastes tityus on there way to my home shortly and am very excited. So any info on rearing/breeding etc would be greatly appreciated. Oh and if anyone is from Louisiana can you tell me why spotting a Dynastes, Lucanidae, or even strategus aloeus (even if I am only talking about three species). The last time I found one was like 10 years ago. Where are some good hunting grounds down here near the Northshore area (if there is any).

You ought to be able to find Dynastes somewhat easily in your state, I'm at the northern edge so it's near impossible. Try white gas station lights after dusk July/August near older wooded areas.

Welcome!

You ought to be able to find Dynastes somewhat easily in your state, I'm at the northern edge so it's near impossible. Try white gas station lights after dusk July/August near older wooded areas.

Welcome!

I most definitely will! thanks for the tip and glad to be here among such good company!!

Hello to another Louisianian~!

I live in Shreveport, the the northern part of Louisiana!

Well, I'm into the coleoptera(mainly, Lucanidae & Scarabeidae), however, I could not collect any specific species that I always wanted to. I saw Lucanus capreolus, Lucanus placidus, Phileurus valgus, Cyclocephala lurida(I think), Euetheola humilis in my area until now.