Cactus Long Horn Beetle emerged

Garin

This is my first time raising Cactus Long Horns (M gigas). I caught the adult beetls in Arizona last summer and the first new adult emerged today. On the left is a pupa that has not emerged yet. Some of the adults from last summer are still alive, so they appear to pretty long lived.

cactus.jpg

Nice, congrats!

I have no luck with this species when I received some adults, but I'm thinking my invert room may simply be too cold for these guys since it stays at the temps better for my scarab larvae.

I've never reared any kind of cerambycid at all, but Moneilema is definitely a great one to work with because of the large size, short development period, availability of their host plant, and the longevity of the adults!  Maybe I'll try rearing some myself eventually, esp. since I have year-round access to wild, prickly pear cactus.  At the moment though, I kind of have my hands full with Chrysina spp., which I'm now having great success with due to recent improvements in the rearing process.  I'm continuing to have C. woodi adults emerge, have now set up a breeding tank for them, and am already seeing mating activity.  So, I expect that eggs will be laid quite soon, if they haven't started doing so already!

On 5/29/2019 at 11:25 AM, PowerHobo said:

Nice, congrats!

I have no luck with this species when I received some adults, but I'm thinking my invert room may simply be too cold for these guys since it stays at the temps better for my scarab larvae.

Thanks! Make sure to keep some of the substrate very moist. I found they won't lay eggs if the sand is not moist. The sand that was dry had no eggs. I kept them at room temp and did not add heat but my house stays around 70 the whole year due to someone always being home.

On 5/29/2019 at 1:02 PM, Goliathus said: