Peter

Peter Clausen

Hello,

I just wanted to write a quick intro to kick off this category. I just opened the beetle forum because I believe there are a lot of beetle enthusiasts who might like a place to exchange information about this most diverse group of bugs. We used the template from the Mantidforum to create this website. If anybody has suggestions for other categories, please feel free to share them.

If the forum doesn't take hold, we'll just try another bug group, but I really enjoy beetles and hope to help create a neat community for others who appreciate their very significant place on our planet. So, consider this a trial run at a beetle forum. If you would like to see this community grow, help us out by sharing our link with other enthusiasts around the world!

Thank you,

Peter

I've been interested in beetles for as long as I remember. Really excited about this forum. I've some experience in rearing beetles but there is always room for improvement. If you have any questions drop me a line. Looking forward to seeing this forum take off!

Joel

Mainly E.smithi and E.tilineata, a Ranzania sp.(red with white spots), and M.ugandensis. Not much. How about you Peter what have you raised? You are also the author of the phasmid book, yes? Any other books you'll be writing?

Hi Joel,

Thanks for joining! I'd like to hear what beetles you've raised.

Peter

Due to the regulations on beetles here in the US, I've raised very little, beetle-wise. That doesn't mean I don't absolutely love beetles and want to raise them all, though.

I don't have a lot of experience raising things to a second generation, but here are a few species that I have kept as pets over the years for at least a partial generation. Many of these were wild caught (not checking my spelling on these, by the way)

D. granti

D. tityus

Plusiotis gloriosa (Chrysina gloriosa) and the two other Arizona Chrysina

I currently have an Omus dejeani Tiger Beetle

Green Tinfoil beetles (Potosia, I think)