Hibernation questions for D. Tityus

Unless the female emerged in a late summer to early spring, hibernation is not required. Also, if you keep it indoor, such thing is not even necessary as indoor temperature is high enough to avoid hibernation. Egg laying does not require hibernation whatsoever.

11 hours ago, JKim said:

Unless the female emerged in a late summer to early spring, hibernation is not required. Also, if you keep it indoor, such thing is not even necessary as indoor temperature is high enough to avoid hibernation. Egg laying does not require hibernation whatsoever.

Thank you, but she emerged during the middle of winter. Also I have heard that hibernating helps mature the female’s ovaries and eggs, is this true?

I've been keeping a continuous culture of tityus for at least 15 years, and have never hibernated them.  I keep them between 70-77 F. year-round.  They're now completely out of sync with the emergence time of the wild population, and it's not unusual for them to emerge and breed right in the middle of winter.  If the beetles are active and feeding, they're ready to breed, regardless of the time of year.  Incidentally, in Florida (peninsular FL, at least), tityus doesn't hibernate, since the climate is mild year-round.  This is also why bears in zoos don't hibernate - it's simply not necessary.  Hibernation is just a way to conserve energy during times when the weather isn't ideal, and food would be scarce.  If an animal doesn't need to hibernate, it won't.

2 hours ago, Goliathus said: