Zophobas morio ”Superworm”

Gerris2

I was delighted to see a prepupa and several pupae in my Zophobas morio colony. In order to keep them from cannibalizing the pupae I gave them materials into which they could burrow to pupate. One material I enjoyed using was dense pieces of styrofoam. They burrow in and make all kinds of chambers in which they successfully pupate. I also put paper towel tubes filled with newspaper or paper toweling. The larvae will also burrow into this material but you don't hear crunching sounds they make in the styrofoam.

8103674027_ccd2a676f5_c.jpg

Zophobas morio ”Superworm” by Gerris2, on Flickr

My son raised one of these. It was fun to watch it. We have the E. goryi right now but they don't seem to like to be without substrate like the superworm.

My son raised one of these. It was fun to watch it. We have the E. goryi right now but they don't seem to like to be without substrate like the superworm.

I am still learning names of beetles, what is the genus name, Eleodes? I would love to grow a colony of that one. Is Eleodes easier than stag beetle culture? I know this is OT question but since I started the thread I think it is ok hahaha.

I am still learning names of beetles, what is the genus name, Eleodes? I would love to grow a colony of that one. Is Eleodes easier than stag beetle culture? I know this is OT question but since I started the thread I think it is ok hahaha.

Yep, that would be Eleodes :)

They are easier than stags in the sense that they don't "need" wood. They are perfectly fine eating other items like carrots.