UK Beetle Newbie (Sort of)

Takoto

Hello!!

My names Luke, I'm from the UK; by day I'm an office worker, by night I'm an artist. Always been super into bugs, mostly moths and local spiders and snails. Always thought beetles were pretty cute/cool, but recently got super interested in scarab beetles and akin, which eventually spread outwards into dynastids (which I'm still learning about).

I was going to get a Japanese rhino beetle from a local place, as my girlfriend is super cool with bugs and we recently moved in together so it felt like a good time, did a ton of research... but ended up getting this dude instead;

tumblr_p2ke2oew9E1qe8z9do2_500.pngtumblr_p2ke2oew9E1qe8z9do1_500.png

If anyone can identify him, that'd be very, very useful. The place I got him from said they had no idea what he is (they just labelled him as "dynastid beetle"), but I'm guessing a three-horned rhinoceros beetle or something akin. I don't feel experienced/confident enough though to know for sure.

I really like beetles aesthetically, but I'm not 100% sure if I'll have the space to raise a bunch of them/breed them for a while... but who knows what the future holds.

My other interests include video games (mostly Pokémon, Shin Megami Tensei/Persona, Touhou, things like that...), pigeons (both wild and domestic, though I don't own any due to space constraints), cosplay, and illustration!

Hi! Im a newb as well, but the beetles looks to be a member of the chalosoma (atlas) beetles. So it is a rhinoceros beetle! I have no idea the scientific name (it could be chalsoma atlas or chalosoma Chiron kirbyi) Im not really good at that stuff. Are you going to try and breed him?