Wind scorpion care?

Hisserdude

I just caught a tiny wind scorpion and I would like to keep it. I assume it is a juvenile because of it's size ( it is like less than a centimeter long.) what should i feed it, what substrate should it have, moisture Etc. Thanks in advance.

Well... I'm not an expert on windscorpions, but I've read a few threads on their general care over at Arachnoboards.

Orin wrote a book with a section that covers the care of windscorpions, so I would defer to his expertise concerning the specifics.

However, until he sees this thread and comments on it, I might be able to render some initial help (and, hopefully, not lead you too far astray):

Since your windscorpion is so small, try feeding it flightless fruit flies and "pinheads" (very small crickets).

The substrate is usually a mix of sand, clay, and silt. There's a particular ratio to the mix, but, I can't remember what exactly it was. Sorry about that. You might try Googling around for the ratio. Also, I remember reading where some windscorpion owners where using a sand and peat moss mixture.

As for water, the windscorpion owners were placing a shallow dish in the cage and keeping it topped off every couple of days, or so.

I don't know what type of windscorpion you have, but the ones from Egypt require 70 percent humidity with a temperature of about 80-85 degrees F during the day and 75 degrees F at night. But, my gut instinct is that yours might do better at a slightly lower temperature.

Anyway, that's about all I can recall concerning the care of windscorpions.

Like I said, Orin should be able to help you out with the specifics.

Cheers

Like I said in another thread here - it all begins with understanding which species you have or at least where it came from.
Different species require different conditions.