Larva I found under a log

jreidsma

i think its darkling but im pretty new to bugs so dont trust on me 100% on this... :D i think click beetle has a little red body then meal worm type beetles... atleast to my area click beetles...

i think its darkling but im pretty new to bugs so dont trust on me 100% on this... :D i think click beetle has a little red body then meal worm type beetles... atleast to my area click beetles...

I hope they are some sort of darkling :D Other than Tenebrio molitor anyways ;) I already have a colony of those :P;)

I am assuming that either way they should like carrots and whatever my mealworms and Eleodes will eat.

Definately click beetle larvae. They prey on other insects so keeping them is somewhat hard unless you have plenty of insects to feed them.

I don't really have a lot of nsects that I could feed them, well, I do have some of those little tiny bean weevils but I doubt the larva would eat those.

I don't really have a lot of nsects that I could feed them, well, I do have some of those little tiny bean weevils but I doubt the larva would eat those.

Click beetle larvae are opportunistic predators or scavengers, if something like a beetle pupa or a dead beetle turns up in front of them they will eat it. Best way to rear something like this out is to keep it in a small container in fairly moist substrate and give it a small bit of dry cat food / cat crunchies - they will happily eat stuff like this.

Click beetle larvae are opportunistic predators or scavengers, if something like a beetle pupa or a dead beetle turns up in front of them they will eat it. Best way to rear something like this out is to keep it in a small container in fairly moist substrate and give it a small bit of dry cat food / cat crunchies - they will happily eat stuff like this.

I may have to try that, just put some dry cat food in the substrate?

Would I need to worry about separating the larva?